Label (the grind version)

Label

I was told being a geek wasn’t cool

I was told being a jock meant you weren’t smart

I was told being a blonde meant you were dumb

I was told being emotional meant you were weak

And then I was told

If you’re cool you’re cool

If you’re smart you’re smart

If you’re blonde you’re blonde

If you’re weak you’re weak

It’s not about the label

In life you get told who you

In life you get told what you are

In life living is hard enough

In life it’s not about what you are

In life it’s about how you live

This is our life in the past

This is our life and how we live it

This is our life without a label

This is our life as we live it

This is our life so just live on

Everything you wear tells a story

Everything you say says something about you

Every time you walk it tells a tale

Every time you look at me I think something new

Everything you do is defined by who your around

I am told liking guys isn’t natural

I am told being Trans is weird

I am told if you like girls you’re a freak

I am told if you can’t choose then you’re not a person

I am told if you support them then you’re not human

If you’re natural then you’re natural

If you’re weird you’re weird

If you’re a freak then you’re a freak

If you’re a person then you’re a person

If you’re human then you’re human

This is our life in the now

This is our life as we see it

This is our life with a label

This is our life as we try to live it

This is our life as we try to live on

What if I was told being prep meant you were nice

What if I was told being in a gang meant you were courageous

What if I was told dying for your country meant you weren’t brave

  What if I was told being president wasn’t beautiful

What if I was told

Cool is just a temperature

Smart is just perspective

Blonde is just a color

Weak is just pain

Natural is just nature

Weird is just archaic

Freak is just change

Person is just people

Human is just a being

Nice is just weather

Courageous is just fear

Brave is just death

Beautiful is just a word

Words are without meaning

Words are without emotion

Words cannot be anything

Words cannot be something

Unless you put emotion and meaning in them

You control your words

You control your emotions

You control the way you live

You control how you live

You control your own label

We live in a world full of it

We live in a world covered in it

We live in a world that hides behind it

We live in a world that pretends their not there

We live in a world full of labels

Live your life to the fullest without labels

At every cross road take the path not labeled

Believe in a world without labels

Enrich your life with no labels

Live your life with the one true label

human

About tothefutureanditsglory

I'm a freshman at champlain college and I'm a computer and digital forensics major. Despite that being my major one of my greatest passions in life is writing. I love putting my thoughts and ideas down on paper.
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

