Stand up to me (For them)

I rarely post twice in one week let alone two days in a row, but I just realized that I didn’t post last week, so here it is a re-make of a poem i did awhile ago, one that means a lot, so I hope you enjoy.

Stand up to me (for them)

I remember a time where I had nothing

I remember a time where I was nothing

Just a kid in the pool

Wearing a tag with a number

They didn’t know my name

Or even my number

They didn’t care

They did what they wanted

They called me there friends

While their fists hit my face

And their feet hit my stomach

No matter how much I screamed

I yelled for help

But no one looked

They all just smiled

And said boys will be boys

Next thing I know I could taste bitter

Their words were like fists

Their insults were like kicks

And all there was left was bitter

I remember that day sitting on the steps

With the pills in my hand

Wishing it all away

And then you walked up to me

You didn’t say much

But it was enough

It all made sense

And it all changed

You said

Stand up to me

Stand up to life

Stand up for everything that’s not right

Stand up for them

For the ones that can’t

It’s the choice you have to make

To stand up for them

So drop the hurt

Drop the pain

Turn their words into your own

And speak the words no one else could

I know how you feel

How know how it works

I know the words they speak

Fell like their fists and kicks

But it’s okay

Because you will stand up

Stand up to them

And stand up for them

I remember those words

Like I’m still listening to them

And as I walk down the hall

I see you on the floor

Your crying your eyes out

Your screaming in pain

They used the same words

They used against me

Your ready for it to end

You shake as I walk by

And I stop in front of you

And just stare down

I see the some bottle

And the same pills

And all I could say

Was what you told me

Stand up to me

Stand up to life

Stand up for everything that’s not right

Stand up for them

For the ones that can’t

It’s the choice you have to make

To stand up for them

I spoke the words

That you told me

They came out easy

Like a song I’ve always known

And just like that

You stood up to me

You turn their words into your own

And you became the voice

You took those words with you

And you stood up for those who couldn’t

For those who can’t stand up

And for those who know what it’s like

About tothefutureanditsglory

I'm a freshman at champlain college and I'm a computer and digital forensics major. Despite that being my major one of my greatest passions in life is writing. I love putting my thoughts and ideas down on paper.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

