Forgiveness, compassion, and friendship

Forgiveness, compassion, and friendship

“You don’t need to be sugar and rainbows all the time, and that’s okay”

Dear you know who you are,

Here I am again writing yet another letter to you, one that you may roll your eyes at, or not even read, but I’m writing it anyway. The reason I write these letters and the reason I write them to you is simply because talking has never been my strong suit.

You see I understand what you did, heck, if I were in your shoes I would have done the same thing, and I know that because I did do it once. I had a friend who was struggling, and going off the deep end, and I thought it would be better to leave them to their own devices since I thought they were a lost cause, but I was very wrong.

Over the last several months I have learned a lot about myself, and the people around me. I have come to a lot of conclusions, and I have come to a lot of realizations about my life. The most prevalent and definitely the most important one has been finally being able to fully admit to myself that I am depressed. This is the reason that it was so hard to talk to you at times, why I treated you the way I did, and why I couldn’t come into terms, until now, about you leaving.

I just want you to know that it’s okay, I understand what you did, and I am beginning to learn from it. There are not enough words or I’m sorrys to take back the things that I have done, and I’ve now realized that I’m sorry is not what needs to be said.

Thank you for everything you did for me. Thank you for being there when I needed you, even if it was for a short time. Thank you showing me how to be a friend, even though I’m still not very good at it, and thank you for showing me that there’s more to life than being depressed. I can’t tell you how much your compassion and friendship means to me, but I think you already know that.

I know forgiveness is possibly out of the question, but I am here asking for it anyway.

Sincerely,

Your dear friend

About tothefutureanditsglory

I'm a freshman at champlain college and I'm a computer and digital forensics major. Despite that being my major one of my greatest passions in life is writing. I love putting my thoughts and ideas down on paper.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

